You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Skip to content
Barossa Gas Project: Learn more

Santos has been inducted as a National Trust Corporate Icon in recognition of its outstanding contribution to South Australia.

The Governor of South Australia, His Excellency The Honourable Hieu van Le AO, as National Trust Patron-in Chief, presented the award at a gala dinner to commemorate Santos’ 60th Anniversary held at the Adelaide Oval last night.

Professor Norman Etherington AM, President of the National Trust of South Australia said Santos joins the ranks of other iconic South Australian companies such as Coopers Brewery and Haigh’s chocolates.

“Heritage is made up of many things, not just historic buildings. Our heritage icon awards recognise those things that have contributed to South Australia’s identity and success” he said.

“Santos has made a major contribution to the State’s prosperity and been an entrepreneurial and innovative force for sixty years. We are pleased to honour their achievements as a National Trust Corporate Heritage Icon”.

Managing Director and CEO of Santos, Mr David Knox was humbled by the award.

“We are delighted to be recognised as a heritage icon and thank the National Trust of South Australia for this prestigious honour” he said.
“The National Trust has recognised the high degree of integrity, social responsibility and leadership shown by Santos since 1954, and this would not be possible without our people – from the tenacity of our early pioneers to the committed staff of today.

“This year we celebrate six decades of history, but also the evolution of Australia’s energy sector, which has been a powerhouse behind the economy and communities not only in South Australia, but across the country and beyond” he said.

Santos also shares some of its early history with the National Trust of South Australia. John Bonython, Major-General George Symes and Sir Douglas Mawson who were leaders in the establishment of Santos in 1954 were also founding members of the National Trust in the following year.